
 
 

Additional Clarifications of the 2023 Rules of Golf 
 

Updated 3 April 2023 
 

Additional clarifications will normally be updated on a quarterly basis each January, April, July, and 
October and the next quarterly update will be in July 2023.  
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New Clarifications 

Rules 
 
Rule 14.3: 
 

Clarification 14.3b(4)/1 – General Penalty Applies Under Rule 14.7 
 

______________________________________________________________________________ 
 

RULES 
 

Rule 5: 
 
 Rule 5.2: 
 

5.2b/3 – Application of Penalty for Practising on Course Before Round in Stroke Play 
 
Rule 5.2b explains when a player is not allowed to practise on the course before a round in stroke 
play. The penalty statement in Rule 5.2b is not limited to making a stroke as the term “practising on 
the course” also includes testing the surface of the putting green by rolling a ball or rubbing the 
surface. 
 
If a player rubs the surface of a single green, they have only breached Rule 5.2 once no matter how 
many times they rub the surface of the same green. (Added December 2022) 

 
Rule 10: 
 

Rule 10.2: 
 
10.2b/1 – Use of Self-Standing Putter for Alignment Help is Not Allowed 
 
[Note: A delay of implementation is in effect until January 1, 2025 that applies to certain uses of 
self-standing putters. For more information, see Clarification 10.2b(3)/2]  
 
Provided a self-standing putter conforms to the Equipment Rules, it may be used to make a stroke 
(Rule 4.1a(1)). But the player (or their caddie) is not allowed to set such a putter down to get help 
in any way that would breach Rule 10.2b. 
 
For example, the player must not set the putter down in a standing position right behind or right 
next to the spot where the ball lies on the putting green to show the line of play or to help the 
player in taking their stance for the stroke in breach of Rule 10.2b(3). (Added December 2022) 
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10.2b(3)/1 – Setting Clubhead on Ground Behind Ball to Help the Player Take a Stance is Allowed 
 
[Note: A delay of implementation is in effect until January 1, 2025 that applies to certain uses of 
self-standing putters. For more information, see Clarification 10.2b(3)/2] 
 
Rule 10.2b(3) does not allow a player to set down an object (such as an alignment rod or a golf 
club) to help the player take a stance. 

 
However, this prohibition does not prevent a player from positioning their clubhead behind the ball, 
such as when a player stands behind the ball and places the clubhead perpendicular to the line of play 
and then, while still holding the club, walks around from behind the ball to take their stance. (Added 
December 2022) 
 
10.2b(3)/2 – Delay of Implementation for Certain Uses of Self-Standing Putters 
 
A two-year delay of implementation in relation to certain uses of self-standing putters under Rule 
10.2b(3) is in effect as follows:  
 
• Until January 1, 2025, a player may use a self-standing putter by setting it down right behind or 

right next to the spot on which the ball came to rest to help aim or to take a stance or position 
their feet. 
 

• From January 1, 2025, Rule 10.2b(3) will apply to self-standing putters and the acts described in 
the previous paragraph will no longer be allowed. But a player will still be allowed to use a self-
standing putter that conforms to the Rules to make a stroke or take other actions allowed by the 
Rules. (Added December 2022) 

 
Rule 14: 
 
 Rule 14.3: 
 

14.3b(4)/1 – General Penalty Applies Under Rule 14.7a 
 

In relation to the final bullet in Rule 14.3b(4), if a player gets the general penalty for making a stroke 
without correcting their mistake, the general penalty applies under Rule 14.7a for having played 
from a wrong place. 
 
For example, when taking back-on-the-line relief, a player drops their ball almost one club-length to 
the side of the line. The ball is in a wrong place irrespective of where it comes to rest, even if it 
comes to rest on the line. The ball must be dropped again to avoid penalty under Rule 14.7a. 
 
In stroke play, if the player makes a stroke from the wrong place, the player would need to correct 
this mistake if playing from a wrong place was a serious breach. (Added April 2023) 

 


